July 22, 2024

Bernard Antwi-Boasiako, alias Chairman Wontumi, Ashanti Regional Chairman of the NPP, was recently booed in the Ejisu Constituency while campaigning for the upcoming by-election.

On April 23, 2024, during a campaign stop in Bonwire, Wontumi, accompanied by some party supporters, was booed by a section of the public when he attempted to deliver an address.

However, a video of what Wontumi said has emerged as he narrated how ungrateful Owusu Aduaomi is, one of three independent candidates seeking to replace the late MP after he lost the Ejisu election.

In an interview with Wontumi FM on April 22, Wontumi said Owusu Aduaomi had said he was not interested in becoming an MP anymore.

“…John Kumah contested three times before he won the Ejisu Constituency; when he won, Owusu Aduaomi said he was going to contest for regional chairman, and you got 9 votes. He shared Cognac and provisions, and I said nothing.

“When the NPP came to power, you never supported Akufo-Addo, and you and I were on the Alan team. However, despite the fact that we were on Alan’s team, you were the deputy roads minister.

“I speak on authority that Owusu Aduaomi said he was not interested in becoming an MP again, and that agreement was between Kofi Job, John Kumah and Owusu. Based on this, Kofi Job employed you and gave you a job. NPP helped you become who you are.

He said he wondered why Owusu Aduaomi would contest as an independent candidate.

The Electoral Commission (EC) has cleared six aspirants to contest in the upcoming Ejisu by-election scheduled for Tuesday, April 30.

Lawyer Kwabena Boateng, the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary candidate, secured the number two spot.

Former MP Ing. Kwabena Owusu Aduomi, who is running as an independent candidate, will be number four on the ballot, while Beatrice Boakye, representing the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG), will appear third.

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) has Esther Osei as their candidate, listed in the number one spot.

Gabriel Agyemang Joseph and Joseph Attakora, both running as independent candidates and designated as numbers five and six, respectively, hold the remaining two positions on the ballot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *